Need a Mentor?

I apologise, I’ve been super busy and haven’t really had a chance to blog! That goes for this, and my personal blog, both which have been looking quite void of any of my usual sarcasm and over-exaggeration. I think I started this blog to create some sort of a networking feed between the alumnae and the girls that come after us, and, with my recent move to Chicago, this whole sort of ‘create-a-link’ with other people in your life has become something thats become suddenly more important to me than I’ve ever realised in the past.

In college and when you’re in school, you always kind of having somebody hovering over you and telling you what to do, how to act, what’s good, what’s bad and how to become. When you’re working, while you still have an authoritative board, no one can actually tell you what to do. You just know, that if you don’t do it, you’re going home without a job. And when you leave college, or graduate school, there are about a million things that you encounter out there that you can’t help but think “Why the heck didn’t they warn me about this?”

I attended a workshop with my company in the UK shortly before I left, and the one thing the presenter strongly suggested, to aid you in career progression in life, or just, in general, was to find a mentor. Someone, who has been where you have been in the past, and at least, can guide you in the right direction. I don’t, currently, have one. Mainly because, I’m not sure who it’d be. I know my parents are always kind of that guiding force, but I definitely think someone who is slightly more removed from your inner circle, definitely provides a different perspective.

I came across this article on thenexteb: How to Be A Great Mentor which is a good read, and something to think about. Bringing it more into context in the greek world, it also gives you something to consider, the next time your lil calls you whining about not being able to find a job. (My lils, personally, who both have the habit of being a little bit of a diva!!)

Do you have a mentor? Let me know what it’s done for you!

A Little different to my usual posts? Let me know what you think!

With Sisterly Love, Trisha

Leave a Reply

